need info on purchase of 2001 Yz426f

6 replies to this topic
  • Match

Posted February 19, 2008 - 06:50 PM

I am looking to buy my first bike as an adult. There is a 01 YZ426F for $1900. The top and bottom end are complete rebuilds, tires and body look to be in good shape from pics I've received. I am going to take a look at the bike over the weekend. Here are my questions/concerns.

1. Is this too much bike for a novice rider? I rode a good bit as a kid and off and on again as an adult but nothing bigger than a 250 both 2 and 4 strokes.

2. Is this price in the right ball park? It seems to be from what I have seen in this area of the states. Virgina.

3. I am not a mechanic so is there anything that would be obvious upon start up I should be looking or listening for?

Any help would be appreciated.

• 2grimjim

Posted February 19, 2008 - 06:56 PM

426's are pretty bulletprof machines. Without seeing the machine it's hard to detirmine value but you can check for yourself here; http://www.kbb.com/k...es/Default.aspx

The only issue that might be of concern is the lack of auto-decompression on the 426's. If you decide to buy this machine your cash would be well spent (about $180)to install a Hot Cams exhaust cam that has the automatic compression release.

• USED YZ426F

Posted February 20, 2008 - 05:39 AM

Where in Virginia are you located?

I have a '00 426 and it is a very powerful bike. Quite the surprise for me after taking 20 years off of riding.

You didn't mention how long it has been since you rode or what kind of riding you are doing now.

Over all the 426's are pretty bullet proof (as long as they are maintained properly) and have good suspension and brakes. The maintenance is nothing too difficult, mostly changing the oil and checking valve clearances and adjusting as necessary.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BASSic

Posted February 20, 2008 - 03:08 PM