Exhaust pipe welding

12 replies to this topic
  • DavisMT

Posted February 19, 2008 - 02:50 AM

Guys,
Anyone have any experience with getting their pipe welded? I have a pro circuit platinum that has some small corrosion cracks around the welds for the mounting flanges and I wanted to get them welded or use some JB weld or someting to seal it back up. Any advice? Thanks.

• 36MotoMarc

Posted February 19, 2008 - 10:51 AM

use a 110v wire feed welder.

• jayc250x

Posted February 19, 2008 - 11:12 AM

use a 110v wire feed welder.

And turn it WAY down - the metal is REALLY thin. I know I'd vaporize it the first try.

JayC

• TwoStrokeJedi

Posted February 19, 2008 - 12:24 PM

is the welds on the titanium proper, does it effect the metal to metal if they are disimilar? What metal type to use?

I am not a welder, but asking questions as I have a similar project on the back burner. I have a small 110V wire feed I wanted to use for some custom work, and basically I am a newb welder...so I wanted to learn a little.

Sorry, not trying to hijack.

• cryzrider

Posted February 19, 2008 - 06:01 PM

Get it TIG welded by someone in the business and it should be fine. This is your only option if it's titanium and it should be purged on the inside with argon to prevent embrittlement. Those pretty blue colors on ti welds are rejectable by all welding codes. Where in Alabama are you? If up north I'd do it for free or maybe a trip to Hooters.
Craigus

• gmbond

Posted February 19, 2008 - 07:16 PM

umm, a pro-circuit platnium pipe is not titanium

it is chrome plated mild steel, the main issue being the chrome plating...

you will need to grind the thin hard chrome layer off, then weld as normal, honestly my best pipe welding on something that thin i usually use a oxy/fuel torch and just very carefully weld small bits at a time... mig can be too "sudden"

Tig is ideal if you've got the equiptment and someone who knows what to do