XR650L kickstand safety bypass & removal

30 replies to this topic
  • Kenzo

Posted February 15, 2008 - 07:46 AM

did a search but couldn't find wut i wus looking for...

i want to bypass AND remove the kickstand safety and associated wiring/hardware...cud someone point me in the right direction or provide instructions?

i haven't opened the case where the wires enter yet but since i'm new to XR's i'm waiting for the maintence/repair manual to arrive before i have at it on my own.

TIA,

kenny

• martinfan30

Posted February 15, 2008 - 07:51 AM

I believe if you connect the clutch safety switch wires together it will bypass all safeties.

• Denn10

Posted February 15, 2008 - 08:03 AM

if your not looking to get rid of the switch then just take off kickstand and zip tie switch out of the way. Might be alot more hassle than its worth to completely eliminate the wire and switch. Just an option though.

• XR650L_Dave

Posted February 15, 2008 - 09:37 AM

I believe if you connect the clutch safety switch wires together it will bypass all safeties.

You have to connect them both to ground to bypass all the safeties. Tying them together just bypasses the clutch switch.

Dave

• martinfan30

Posted February 15, 2008 - 10:17 AM

You have to connect them both to ground to bypass all the safeties. Tying them together just bypasses the clutch switch.

Dave

Thanks for the info Dave.

• tgstoken

Posted February 15, 2008 - 12:40 PM

You have to connect them both to ground to bypass all the safeties

Just curious, how do you do that? Where do you ground the wires?

• Denn10

Posted February 15, 2008 - 12:52 PM

you can ground to anywhere on the frame thats close and has a clean look.

• CReffex

Posted February 15, 2008 - 01:23 PM

Just be careful bypassing the clutch safety....
Had a friend crash on a huge hill in the Hatfield-McCoys on his L, Crushed Throttle tube so it hung open, accidentally hit the ebutton turning the bike around...