Auto clutch???

46 replies to this topic
  • thumpyz

Posted February 06, 2008 - 09:26 PM

I am new to 4 strokes, but have been riding for a while. I am not sure I understand why somebody would want an auto clutch on an mx bike. when i think of an auto clutch it makes me think of a station wagon, like you wouldnt be able to control your power. Are these auto clutches worth the money? They seen expensive for what in my opinion(or lack of knowledge) would be a down grade of ride quality. I would love to be enlightened, if you guys would be so kind. thanks.

• DGIRT

Posted February 07, 2008 - 04:04 AM

I have one on my 06 450. I love it. I race moto and hare scrambles with it. I still use the clutch to blast out of the corners to clear a jump. Best of all I don't have to worry about stalling.

• thumpyz

Posted February 07, 2008 - 07:42 AM

Oh, I see. So there is no performance loss, and it keeps the bike from stalling. Do they use these things in supercross? Is this why they can dump the bike and it doesnt die?

• maddogyz250f

Posted February 07, 2008 - 08:55 AM

There is no performance loss at all. You may even go faster because the auto clutch is better at clutch management than most riders. You will also not get as tired. I do not know of any supercross rider who uses one but some do use slipper clutches. The only reason they do not stall in a crash is because they either pull in the clutch in time or the rear tire stays off the ground while the bike is laying on its side.

Some people, including myself, have a trouble keeping auto clutches adjusted. If you don't keep it adjusted, you will stall often and/or burn up your plates pretty quickly.

• yz4fun

Posted February 07, 2008 - 08:10 PM

I have the recluse in my 450 and i love it,kind of like a Honda 50 being i can pop it into gear without the clutch lever:thumbsup: but don't be fooled,just give it a little gas and its like a regular clutch :busted:

• ncmountainman

Posted February 08, 2008 - 03:05 PM