250 or 450?

8 replies to this topic
  • crfklxrider

Posted February 05, 2008 - 05:36 PM

ok so im 5'9 im 15 and 185 lbs. i have a fully modded klx 300r and i ride pretty heavily rocky/tight trails, but i also am going to do some races in mass this yr. i am gonna get 1 of the 2 bikes,(250,450) but im worried the 450 might be too tough in the trails, what is your experience/ opinions?
thanks, Kevin w.

• Vegemite_luva

Posted February 05, 2008 - 06:15 PM

Hey Kevin, had you looked very closely in one of the sticky's, Clark4131 pretty much settles the whole 250 vs 450 debate. Since I'm such a nice guy here is the link:

http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=473960

But the answer to your question also depends on what year WR450F are you looking at? I have a 2003 and it is a handful for me in the East Coast technical trails and I am actually seriously considering downsizing to a 250 but then again I am also a beginner, 5'8", fat(195lbs), out of shape, and with a bad back(I have a ton of other excuses too). I hear the 2005's and 2007's carry their weight much better.

Anyhow, good luck with your choice and either way you should be happy/sad as the grass is always greener ...

• redswr

Posted February 05, 2008 - 09:38 PM

get a 07 or newer 450 and you'll be very happy... i'm really glad i didn't get the 250 and i'm 5'6" chunky 200#'s

are you a fit 185?

• cpr1

Posted February 06, 2008 - 06:02 AM

I'm 5'7 and 160lbs. I'm at best a good C rider. I have a 2004 WR450 and I ride mostly tight, rocky northern NJ trails and eastern PA trail junk. When I first got my 450 I thought it would be a total handfull in the tight woods...and it was .....until I revalved/resprung my suspension for my weight and added a Scott's stabilizer. Now I absolutley love this bike.:busted:

Just my 2 cents.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Vegemite_luva

Posted February 06, 2008 - 05:32 PM