Front sprocket, what do you guys think?

10 replies to this topic
  • Knowledge seeker

Posted January 29, 2008 - 04:37 AM

In all the reading I've done as an XR650R newbie I've noticed that a lot of riders change the front 14 tooth sprocket to a 13 one to improve the trail riding capability. In the other hand American Honda suggest having the rear wheel as close to the swingarm pivot for handling purposes. Would it be possible to have a 13 tooth, remove a link from the chain, slide the rear wheel forward, and still have the proper chain slack adjustment?. Thanks in advance

Roger

• Denn10

Posted January 29, 2008 - 06:48 AM

theres two handling sides of that, rear wheel all the way back= more stable for higher speeds and all the way foreward= better cornering due to shorter wheel base. NOW will you feel all that much a difference in that 1-1 1/2 in wheel base? Prolly not alot to warrant cutting the chain to purpously have it all the way foreward. Id put what sprocket you chose and see where the wheel is in the swingarm and go from there, i wouldnt purpously cut the chain to have the wheel in if its in the middle thats fine. You prolly wont tell the difference in 1" of wheel base, so not really worth cutting the chain to accomplish that.

• Knowledge seeker

Posted January 29, 2008 - 09:05 AM

Point taken, thanks!

Roger

• djones

Posted January 29, 2008 - 01:57 PM

You could also go up a few teeth on the rear sprocket for the same effect with out having to shorten the chain. Im not positive, but I believe +3 teeth on the rear= -1 tooth up front

• Denn10

Posted January 29, 2008 - 03:44 PM

You could also go up a few teeth on the rear sprocket for the same effect with out having to shorten the chain. Im not positive, but I believe +3 teeth on the rear= -1 tooth up front

you add 3 and youll prolly have to add to chain, alot depends where your rear wheel is sitting at current gearing.