just bought wr450

12 replies to this topic
  • bignasty680

Posted January 23, 2008 - 07:58 PM

I just purchased a left over 07wr450 and im new to 4strokes rode 2strokes my whole life, i have been reading about certain "free mods" on here and was wondering if anyone had any opinions on what i should do? i do know about the throttle stop but thats about it. I have read something about ASI have no clue what that is, was told to unsmogg it? like i said im clueless and just learing about thumpers so any advice anyone can give me i would appreciate it.

thanks

• Sleeperdrz

Posted January 23, 2008 - 08:14 PM

Go to the Yamaha section of this site and they can fix you up.

Changing from a two stroke you will notice a couple things at first. Number one , it will feel "top heavy". WR's feel more top heavy than say, KTM 4 strokes due to engine and frame design. Also the WR motor is essentially a MX engine so it will "hit" a little harder and feel more like a moto machine than a KTM exc.
Secondly, unless it's changed from my old '05 WR the engine braking is brutal. My WR felt like a rocking horse... let off the gas it dives... gas it and it squats.
Other than that I had no complaints about the bike. It's as durable as a rock, has great suspension, and can be ridden hard and put away wet.
Keep the air filter clean and change the oil and it might possibly last forever!
Congratulations!:cool:

• XR4DEZ

Posted January 23, 2008 - 08:17 PM

What convinced you to buy the WR?

• bignasty680

Posted January 23, 2008 - 08:25 PM

what convinced me was riding an 04 wr450, never thought i would switch over but was getting bottom end replaced in my 200 and friend told me ride his extra bike, does unbelievable in the woods in my opinion from cornering to acceleration for hills, basically it just fit my riding style and very happy with it

• JSanfilippo

Posted January 23, 2008 - 08:33 PM

Go to the Yamaha section of this site and they can fix you up.