Blasted accordians!

5 replies to this topic
  • Ironbeak

Posted October 16, 2002 - 01:42 PM

I'm kinda new to thumpers, but am LOVING my new XR650R. Thank God for my experience riding sportbikes. The XR is a LOT of bike. Anyway, my question is... Is there any sensible alternative to those lame-looking black accordian-looking sheaths on the fork? I'd like to keep the dust out, but just don't like the way they look.

• FooBarr

Posted October 16, 2002 - 01:54 PM

I believe Summers Racing Components have a plastic slider and seal saver setup. Try this link:
http://www.srcinc.net/newproduct.html
It's near the bottom of the page.

It's works with thier front fork brace and I believe you might get the plastic slider with the brace kit. Check with them for sure.

• Ironbeak

Posted October 16, 2002 - 02:17 PM

Thanks for the reply. Actually, I'd like to spend as little $$$ as possible, so I doubt I'd go adding a brace. I just thought there might be a simple solution. I'm riding stricktly street anyway... got road tires and stuff. I wonder if just taking them off all together would be okay.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • FooBarr

Posted October 16, 2002 - 02:23 PM

Try these for $25

http://www.sealsaver...t_ID=11&CATID=1

• Ironbeak

Posted October 16, 2002 - 02:25 PM

Yeah, those look more like it. Simple, cheap, and not even vaugely reminiscent of pasta, gondolas, or The Godfather trilogy.

• secretatlas

Posted October 17, 2002 - 11:02 AM

ironbeak,