WR450 Beginner Bike

15 replies to this topic
  • xBRIANx

Posted January 17, 2008 - 07:39 PM

First off, sup boy/girls I'm new here, thought Id say hi.

Secondly, Im not a beginner rider, however I am new to trying to fix up my bike. I dont really know any mechanics of a bike, other than putting gas in (lol) checking/chaning oil, air filter basic shit like that honestly. I see alot of people here saying what theyve done to their bike and stuff like that, and Im just curious what are some basic things to do to a bike to make it last, and run better. Note- Ive already cut the grey wire, removed the baffle, and took out the throttle screw thing... Any suggestions or how-tos would be much appriciated!! again, whats up everyone! and Thanks for any help!!

• graazzy

Posted January 18, 2008 - 12:34 AM

if you havn't got an workshop manual get one and start reading ,don't worry bout power mods,if you have a 450 there is plenty power in their already.

• SurvivorMan

Posted January 20, 2008 - 09:38 AM

Hello, WR's are built too last, so i guess you bought the right bike. lots of oil changes and fresh filters is the key. oh yeah, make sure the jetting is on, i recommend buying the jd kit.

• xBRIANx

Posted January 20, 2008 - 07:58 PM

Thank you guys. Few more questions I have is: Tires? - My riding consists of trails, and a little pavement. Mainly Dirt/Mud 5% pavement.. if that. So type of tire? Also, Oil? Does it matter? (Assuming it does..) what kind? Spark Plug Again, does itmatter? (if it does) what kind would you recommend.

Also, as I was riding this weekend my dirtbike seemed to be kinda running shitty, bogging down when i would slingshot the throttle (flooring it fast) idle was kinda rough, kept wanting to die, but when the choke is on, it idles so high that its like you dont even need to use throttle to hit second gear. also the battery doesnt seem to let the electric start work for very long until its drained. anyways thats it for now, thanks for any help!!