Xr600 Won't Start!!! Not Carb. Related...

13 replies to this topic
  • mmmechanics

Posted January 06, 2008 - 06:05 PM

This is actually pretty embarresing, I am a motorcycle technician and ended up purchasing this bike that blew a hole through the center of the piston. I have done the following: carburetor overhaul & dipped in carburetor DIP, replaced timing chain, new piston & rings, new valves, cut new seat to make sure they sealed properly. I am getting spark, fuel and compression. The cam chain is perfectly alligned. I go to start it and it wil fire for 1 revolution of the engine, then backfire. Anyone ever experence this problem and find out what was wrong? Any feed back will be greatly appreciated.

• frankstr

Posted January 06, 2008 - 07:14 PM

If You have compression, spark, fuel, with air it should run....sounds like cam timing, valve adjustment, or ???....:banghead:

• dmvmechanics

Posted January 06, 2008 - 08:34 PM

which end does it backfire out of?

• jetfuel

Posted January 06, 2008 - 09:08 PM

+1 on the cam timing or valve adjustment...

• mmmechanics

Posted January 06, 2008 - 09:37 PM

Thats what so weird. The cam timing is perfect, valve clearance is perfect, it backfires out the exhaust and sounds like a shotgun going off. I have never been stumped on a bike like this. I have been doing this for 7 years for a living and have never had this problem before. I can't figure it out! I am starting to lead towards the stator since it sits in oil but from bench testing it and kicking it over, it meets Honda's OEM specs. I don't know, what do you guys think???

• jetfuel

Posted January 06, 2008 - 10:01 PM

What about the decompressor leaving the exhaust valve hang open ??

• suharianu

Posted January 06, 2008 - 11:35 PM

spark and valve timing are out of sync

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • creeky

Posted January 07, 2008 - 05:31 AM

spark and valve timing are out of sync