race fuel(unleaded vs leaded)

12 replies to this topic
  • corkdog96

Posted January 05, 2008 - 03:44 PM

I am new to the whole 4 stroke scene. I just purchased an 08 yz 450f and was reading the manual and it says to run 95 octane or higher of unleaded fuel in it. Most race fuels are leaded and I was curioous if that would hurt the motor or not any help would be appreciated

• motomanmike26

Posted January 05, 2008 - 04:28 PM

Don't run race gas unless your motor needs it. Your just wasting money. Your bike will run on race gas as it is now(stock) and it will be fine. But if your going to get the higher octane fuel you should drain the gas when your done riding. Use 93 or any gas that has a higher octane. 95's perfect if you can get it(can't get 95 where i live). If i had a stock bike i deffinetly would run pump gas. Race gas is such a waste of money. :banghead:

• grayracer513

Posted January 05, 2008 - 06:01 PM

The manual refers to 95 Research octane. There are two methods of measuring octane currently in use, Research (research octane number, or RON) and Motor octane (MON). The motor octane method is a more accurate indication of how fuel will react in a modern motorcycle engine, and always produces lower rating numbers for the same fuel.

Gas pumps in the US are labeled by the Research/Motor averaging method ( (R+M)/2 ). 91 Octane by this method is roughly equal to 95 RON, so US pump premium is generally all that is necessary.

Race fuels that are truly appropriate for the YZ450 will produce more horsepower (1, maybe 2), but cost nearly 3 times as much as pump gas in many cases.

• Wes Woodin

Posted January 05, 2008 - 07:18 PM

I am new to the whole 4 stroke scene. I just purchased an 08 yz 450f and was reading the manual and it says to run 95 octane or higher of unleaded fuel in it. Most race fuels are leaded and I was curioous if that would hurt the motor or not any help would be appreciated