To sag or not to sag?

5 replies to this topic
  • Ken209

Posted December 31, 2007 - 08:35 AM

I'm a newbie and ride a 2000 WR-400 and do mostly trail riding. I'm doing okay with my riding :D but felt that the bike sat a little too high for me (5' 11" at 200 lbs). Last week while I was replacing my steering bearings I decided to drop the bike...a lot. I measured the orig race sag at 5" and the static sag at 2" (already lower than recommended). I then lowered the steering clamps on the forks about 1/4" and reduced the rear preload by 8 revolutions. Now my race sag is at 5.75" and my static sag is at 2.75". Didn't play with any of the rebound or compression settings.

My bike now has a lower center of gravity and it seems to be easier to toss around and negotiate trails and hill climb.:busted::banana::D

My question is, is there any chance down the road I could damage anything from doing this?

I appreciate your advice.:banghead: I've used many of tips from TT to fix and keep my ride going.

Thanks
Ken

• kskyles

Posted December 31, 2007 - 09:23 AM

i don't think you're going to hurt anything on the bike.

you're probably going to be unstable at higher speeds. your bike may swap around or handle poorly when going over bumps at speed.

• byggd

Posted January 01, 2008 - 10:27 AM

I did the same thing to my 426 because the guy I got it from was 6'3" and it had a really tall seat on it. As I started to ride it a little more aggressively I really didn’t like the way it handled so I turned the pre-load back up so the sag is about 110 and cut the seat down. MUCH better IMO.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Rich_in_Orlando

Posted January 01, 2008 - 03:21 PM

Ken,

Hurt the bike...don't see how the wrong sag could do that but if your sag isn't set properly your suspension isn't going to work properly.