Picking up an 07 WR450 Monday! - What 1st?

17 replies to this topic
  • steverad1

Posted December 29, 2007 - 04:16 PM

OK everyone - I'm going for it. I'm picking up a new 07 WR450 on Monday. I can't wait to get behind the throttle. I have been riding a TTR 250 for a couple years now. It's been a great bike but always felt a little heavy and lacking in power. I weigh about 185lbs do alot of trail and hill climbing with some motocross track riding. Based on everything I've seen and read, I believe the WR is the bike I have been looking for.

Anyhow, I pick the bike up on Monday and we are hitting the trails on Tuesday. I don't want to take it out the 1st time and be disapointed in the power. From everything I've read it sounds like it comes pretty corked up stock. I have been reading about the different mods to open it up. Are there any that I should go ahead and do right away before I even hit the 1st trail? Would it be helpful to go ahead and remove the baffle, remove the grey wire, remove the snorkel? I don't know if I'll have time to mess with the AIS just yet.

Your advice is greatly appreciated. Look forward to having a lot of conversations with you guys in the future.

Steve

• resinlips

Posted December 29, 2007 - 06:43 PM

Well maybe you should just ride it first and make sure nothing is wrong with it before you start tinkering. Just a thought.
It makes plenty of hp without the mods. Congrats!!

• GoodGuy

Posted December 29, 2007 - 06:50 PM

Put the Yamaha AIS rmoval on mine, removed grey wire from connector (not cut), rmoved snorkel and installed GTYR Yamaha large diameter tip in pipe. Been riding WRs and YZs since 98 and this bike flat rips!!!!!

• erickdj

Posted December 29, 2007 - 08:09 PM