Braking rotor dilema?

3 replies to this topic
  • tnat1

Posted December 27, 2007 - 08:47 AM

I just picked up some supermotowheels for my 2006 yz450f, the front has the Motomaster flame racing disc, I dont have a caliper relocation bracket which goes for $100, My dilema is should i just get a ebc 280mm for both sets of rims, the dirt rims and the supermoto rims that way i can swap out faster. would i be at a disadvantage with the 280mm compared to the 320mm, im not a pro and i will probobly race like 1 supermoto race a month. or should i just pick up a ebc 320mm rotor and bracket for the dirt wheels and use the bracket for both sets of wheels. will running a 320mm on the dirt be bad.

• BIG HAL

Posted December 27, 2007 - 08:52 AM

Well you already spent the money on the wheels and such whats another 100.00? Just get the bracket.:banghead:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted December 27, 2007 - 08:57 AM

The 320 is quite a lot of brake in the dirt. You may find it a bit rich. OTOH, the 280 will be noticeably less powerful than the 320 on pavement, but you may get by with it if you mostly race SM for fun, have a good grip, and the brake doesn't fade from heat.

• Wes Woodin

Posted December 27, 2007 - 05:10 PM

The 320 is quite a lot of brake in the dirt. You may find it a bit rich. OTOH, the 280 will be noticeably less powerful than the 320 on pavement, but you may get by with it if you mostly race SM for fun, have a good grip, and the brake doesn't fade from heat.

The smallest of ruts will grab a 320mm for sure. Sometimes even a 280mm. Get the bracket:thumbsup:

Related Content

x

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.

If you enjoyed reading about "" here in the ThumperTalk archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join ThumperTalk today!