Front brake

14 replies to this topic
  • yammx

Posted December 04, 2007 - 02:08 AM

Hi Guys,

i am new as a XR650R rider and joind this forum today.
Now i like to start with a first question.
Last time i played a bit like supermoto on a hughe parking area and after
5min. of hard braking to the turns, i lost the complete pressure of the front brake.
Yes, the brake disc, the pads and the caliper where very hot, but is this
a reason to loose the complete braking power?
After 20min. of cooling down the pressure came back and i was able to ride home.
Ist this a problem of unproper bleeding (air in the system) or is the front brake simply to weak for aggressiv road riding.
Whats your experience?

Thanks in advance!

• sploogemonkey

Posted December 04, 2007 - 04:44 AM

Welcome to the board yammx.

I'm not exactly qualified to respond from experince as I do not own a 650R, but I've been riding for many years and have logged countless miles of agressive street miles in the canyons of SoCal.

I've experienced brake fade before, but never a total loss of braking ability.

You might want to install a steel brake line (I run Galfer) and flush your brake fluid and run some quality DOT 4 grade fluid (I run Motul). Properly bleed the system and inspect all the connections for potential leaks. Strap your bike down and compress the front suspension, now inspect the front brake cable and check for binding or kinking (do this even if you run the stock brake line).

If you ride hard enough to over heat your braking system in 5 minutes, you should be doing these mods anyway.

I'm sure that a 650R owner will be along to offer some more insight before too long.

Good luck and hope you get it sorted.

• Blacksamwell

Posted December 04, 2007 - 05:08 AM

Wecome!