help me out here, will ya..

21 replies to this topic
  • soudry

Posted November 21, 2007 - 03:17 PM

i have a stock 08 yz450 with about 2 hours on it, i'm in jersey, its about 40-60 degrees right now at about sea level, from reading, i get the idea that the bike comes jetted lean stock, i'm very new to 4 strokes and carburetors, any jeeting tips?whats a good way to know if the bike is lean? power wise i have nothing to compare it to.
when i let of the gas the bike doesn't idle right away it idle kinnda high for like 2-5 seconds and then idle at the right speed, how can i fix this?
or if i'm at nutral sometimes when i blip the throttle it will die on me. please help me out.
thanks for reading:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

• todds924

Posted November 21, 2007 - 05:54 PM

i have a stock 08 yz450 with about 2 hours on it, i'm in jersey, its about 40-60 degrees right now at about sea level, from reading, i get the idea that the bike comes jetted lean stock, i'm very new to 4 strokes and carburetors, any jeeting tips?whats a good way to know if the bike is lean? power wise i have nothing to compare it to.
when i let of the gas the bike doesn't idle right away it idle kinnda high for like 2-5 seconds and then idle at the right speed, how can i fix this?
or if i'm at nutral sometimes when i blip the throttle it will die on me. please help me out.

Leave everything as is but try your fuel screw at 2 1/4 turns out.

• soudry

Posted November 22, 2007 - 12:32 PM

thanx i'm getting the fuel screw this monday

• albertaguy

Posted November 22, 2007 - 02:36 PM

JD jetting kits work great, easy to follow install. Colour inside head pipe and on plug is a good indicator of rich or lean - chocolatey brown is good, white is bad. Post with a better tittle in the jetting section and you'll get more advice than you can shake a stick at within the hour.

• ubu

Posted November 23, 2007 - 08:24 AM