New Wr426 owner in NJ with a few ??'s

8 replies to this topic
  • njracer

Posted October 02, 2002 - 03:39 AM

1st of all just wanted to say hello. I'm new to this whole dirt thing so I have a few ?'s. This is my 1st dirt bike and I'm only 36 :). I've been riding street bikes since I was 17 and race a gsxr750 in ccs and fusa.

Well to make a long story short, my gf moved out so I was pissed off and shot down to the yamaha shop and picked up a new 2001 wr.

So far I've had it to a nice pit and to the local mx practice track. So far it's been fun but it's so very different from street riding. I'm getting schooled by 11yr old's.

well on to my ?'s

How hard is it to make the WR street legal in NJ? I've heard of people getting it registered in VT but have no idea on how to do it. Any help would be great.

Why does this bike feel like it's fuggin 10 feet tall? I'm not short (5'11 and 190lbs) but I feel like a midget on it.

Anyone in NJ who does not mind showing a slow guy around or would like to point me toward a good place to ride, please do.

Thanks,

njracer

• njracer

Posted October 02, 2002 - 08:36 AM

Anyone....anyone...Bueler??

njracer

• flyinguitars

Posted October 02, 2002 - 09:03 AM

Where in NJ are you located? Chatsworth (www.njorvp.org) has a nice park with a few tracks and woods loops...200.00 a year...all in all a pretty cool legal place to ride. I also ride at the atco motocross track....really cool track but would be intimidating for beginners. I also go to a pit in atco thats not to far from the motocross track every once in a while....its good to practice jumping and going into berms over and over there. Let me know if you want to check out any of these places and I'll meet you there and show you around. Good luck with the bike!
Mike

• Fryboy

Posted October 02, 2002 - 10:20 AM

Hi Njracer and welcome to thumpertalk.

Don't worry about your seat height. After a few rides your shocks get broken in and soften up.