Rant against Twin Air (XR600)

6 replies to this topic
  • Owyhee

Posted November 17, 2007 - 04:49 PM

[rant]My stock 1999 air filter finally gave up the ghost so I wandered down to the local Honda shop for a replacement. I ordered a Twin Air part number 150601 (XR250/400/600Baja85/650L 93/) on a day off from work.

The part comes in and it just looks wrong. Granted, I'm not an expert on the 600, but I do know what wrong looks like. The air filter end of the air cleaner is much too small to fit around the opening for the air boot.

I talked with the 40-something parts guy behind the counter making $7/hr and told him it was the wrong part. He said, "That's the right part. Look at the bag."

Smelling bullshit, I walked over to the floor model XR650L and yanked out its air filter, and took it to show him. Again, he said it was the right one. I showed him the differences in the openings and he said it would fit.

Because the part was special order, I sort of wasn't allowed to return it. After the cashier girl rang up my order wrong three times (I had to get a refund on parts they couldn't get) I left.

Tonite I put the air filter on.

Guess what? [/rant]

"O"

• exaresix

Posted November 17, 2007 - 05:05 PM

I just checked Twin Air's website, and part number TA 150601 is said to be the correct one.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted November 17, 2007 - 05:52 PM

That kinda sucks. I've had similar issues with twinair previously (XL350R). I like the UNI products better for non-race bikes.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Owyhee

Posted November 17, 2007 - 08:15 PM

That kinda sucks. I've had similar issues with twinair previously (XL350R). I like the UNI products better for non-race bikes.

I had a Uni filter for my 1984 XR350R. Great fit, great filter, great bike.

I just checked Twin Air's website, and part number TA 150601 is said to be the correct one.