Can't keep my XL600 running and can't restart it. Help Please

10 replies to this topic
  • Tallerman

Posted November 16, 2007 - 05:04 PM

My '85 XL600 starts on the 2nd kick. It will run for about 2 miles or until I close the throttle while slowing down and then die. Then I can't seem to get it restarted until the next day.

I've pushed it home twice and trailered it once.

Does this sound like a fuel supply problem? (The carbs fill up quickly after I drain them)

Could this be a carb problem? It runs better on full choke than off but it's cold here though I do let it warm up for about 5 minutes before riding.

I replaced the plug but the used plug was dry and a nice brown.

Could this be the dreaded CDI failure?

Any ideas? Any diagnostic tips?

XL600 Noob here.

• cleonard

Posted November 16, 2007 - 05:13 PM

This sounds like it might be the dreaded stator issue. This is just about what my bike did. However, before tearing into the stator you need to eliminate all other possibilities.

One thing to try is check the spark. Do it before you start it so you have a reference. Pull the plug wire and use a spare plug. Kick and look at the spark. Then run the bike till it quits. Then check the spark again. If the spark is missing or really wimpy then it points at the stator.

• Timmerz

Posted November 16, 2007 - 09:16 PM

Almost sounds like a venting problem...run the bike until it starts to die and then pop the gas cap and see if it quickly comes back to full rpm's again...

• Tallerman

Posted November 17, 2007 - 01:51 PM

I have a spark checker I will use to test the spark value. The PO pointed out that the CDI is the original and might fail. I might want to change it just for insurance. Do you know the best source for that part?

I will also check the fuel tank cap for flow.

Tallerman

• rangerman

Posted November 17, 2007 - 04:31 PM