?? about hotcams going in 01 yz 426

11 replies to this topic
  • yzguy459

Posted November 16, 2007 - 02:58 PM

This is my first time going through the engine, im putting in a wiseco piston and in/ex hot cams on my 2001 yz426. i was just curious about the valve clearance. since the hot cams have slightly bigger lobs on them does that mean i have to get smaller shims to keep the clearance the same? Oh, and i was wondering wat the opinions r on the titanium 4 silencer with a powerbomb header, good sound? good power jump?

Thanks

• grayracer513

Posted November 16, 2007 - 03:18 PM

The exhaust you mention is a good one, and its biggest benefit is not in th eincrease of peak power, but in how wide and flat the curve will be.

If the increase in lift means anything to valve clearance, it would mean that the shims may need to be larger, not smaller. Why? because there is often a limit to how tall the cam can be for design reasons, and they are often built very nearly that tall stock, again for sound mechanical reasons. In that case, lift is added by making the base circle smaller, not by making the lobes taller. Lift is the difference the height of the cam to the center of the shaft at the low spot, or heel, and the height of the cam from the shaft center to the top of the lobe.

Most times, YZ4** cams are ground with the base circle at a diameter very similar to the OEM cam, so the shims will be very close to, or even the same as, if you're real lucky, the ones you have now. There is, however, no way to know what shims will be needed to adjust the valve clearance without assembling it with the shims you currently have and measuring it.

• Birdy426

Posted November 16, 2007 - 03:20 PM

While the hotcams have more lift (the "pointy part of the lobe is taller), the base circle (the round part of the lobe) is actually a bit smaller than the stock cam. You will need to reshim, but will likely need thicker, not thinner shims.

• yzguy459

Posted November 16, 2007 - 05:01 PM