99 yz400 Right for me?

11 replies to this topic
  • Akiva1080

Posted November 13, 2007 - 09:41 PM

Hello everybody :lol:
This is my first post here, so i'll give my question first and brief history next. After all, from searching these forums, it seems you all like some brevity.

Would a 99 yz400 be too much bike for me?

My background: I'm 26 but married and w/ a young child so I'm no psycho when it comes to riding. Matter of fact, I've been riding streetbikes for about 6 years and I love minor wrenching. I have 3 bikes in my garage now and I'm always taking things apart learning how they function by bugging my more knowledgeable friends.
Here's a quick shot of me at willow springs to show how gentle a rider I am
Posted Image

Anyway, not that I'm trying to move away from street, but we all know how nuts LA drivers are. In addition, some instructors at the tracks have recommended I get into dirt as it'll help my track riding. Seeing the hundreds driving with a bike or 2 in a pickup every sunday, I always was curious where they were heading out to, and how much fun it is.
Well, a buddy of mine let me play around on his '83 xr500 (street legal) for a bit the other day and although the thing was a behemoth (I'm only 5'7 160 lbs.) once I managed to climb UP, it was so fun! I decided I want :lol:

From there I sat down and did a bunch of research on this site and others gathering what I could about different types of riding, different bikes (2 stk vs 4 stk) and most importantly, the legal BS here in california with licensing bikes. (I should be careful what I say tho, most of my family are lawyers and my brother is in law enforcement). I hope to gain a little more knowledge as I surf around here.

My first thought was I'd like to get a dual purpose bike, but it seems those are few and far between and the possibility of making a bike street legal would be slim not to mention costly. My budget right now is about 1 grand. :ride: I know i know.