Throttle tight??

6 replies to this topic
  • Sycamore

Posted November 12, 2007 - 09:53 PM

Hey got a new 2007 that I immediately removed the carb and sent it to ZipTy Racing for the kit that suppose to stop the bonk off idle that 4 strokes have..I'm new to them.

Got it back put it in..what a nightmare!! Put the bike together run it around to brake it in and come home sit on the bike twist the throttle and do a couple of broom brooms and it feels a ok to a point and then the pull is hard.

I took off the tank played with the cables still the same thing. I give up for the night and go back and it still is doing the same them then low and behold it's fine??

I go on a long trip and it does it again. Come back check the cables..good. I call Zipty and they say it's binding in the cables.

I check everything again, this time tear it apart since I have to change the jetting anyway and can't find anything and the cables are as free as OJ used to be.

Put is together still good, go for a short ride...the same thing. Check the cables again and their fine...go back the next day twist the throttle again and the first few twists it still feels tight them all of a sudden it's nice and easy..what gives??

Is this a cable issue or a normal carb thing?

• Thumper_Bloke

Posted November 12, 2007 - 10:17 PM

Something doesn't sound right, idk what to say to fix your problem.

But i never twist my throttle with the engine off, no more than twice to cold start it. Our carburetors have an accelerator pump. Every time you twist, you empty this little chamber of fuel from the bottom of the carb into the engine. Twist it alot, and you will puddle the intake with fuel, and wash down your cylinder walls into your oil. You can twist the throttle alot, so fast that if the carb was in your hand, it would look like a toy squirt gun shooting water 5-10ft.

• tweav

Posted November 12, 2007 - 11:15 PM