2004 Yz450f

8 replies to this topic
  • wr450fyamaha

Posted November 02, 2007 - 06:17 AM

I am looking into buying a 04 450. I am pretty new to the 450's and dont know all that much about them. The guy said that he is the second owner-first owner raced it in the 40+ class (does that mean age?) and that he only put about 10 hours on it. Its got a yoshi pipe, rental bars, and a couple other things. What are the most common problems with these bikes? What problems should I look for? About how much would you guys say its worth?

• wr450fyamaha

Posted November 02, 2007 - 06:34 AM

also, how hard is it to add a head light?

• grayracer513

Posted November 02, 2007 - 07:10 AM

I am looking into buying a 04 450. I am pretty new to the 450's and dont know all that much about them. The guy said that he is the second owner-first owner raced it in the 40+ class (does that mean age?) and that he only put about 10 hours on it. Its got a yoshi pipe, rental bars, and a couple other things. What are the most common problems with these bikes? What problems should I look for? About how much would you guys say its worth?

It's not age, it's speed. The 40+ class is 10 mph up on the 30+ class, and the 50+ and 60+ are just crazy. :worthy:

Just kidding, it's age.

At ten hours, about the only thing that might be wrong is dirty oil or filters. At high hours, some of the 450's will develop a problem with the higher gears skipping, but most don't. It's probably worth about $3k these days, maybe less.

also, how hard is it to add a head light?

Difficult and expensive unless it's battery only. You need to rewind or replace the stator to include a lighting coil, the output of the stator is small, and parts from a WR won't fit.

• tnl

Posted November 02, 2007 - 08:05 AM

Difficult and expensive unless it's battery only. You need to rewind or replace the stator to include a lighting coil, the output of the stator is small, and parts from a WR won't fit.