Fast idle, and more

9 replies to this topic
  • BrandonW

Posted March 25, 2002 - 07:09 AM

Hey, my name is Brandon, and I bought a 1998 WR400 last week. I have been riding a 1990 XT600 like a dirtbike for the past 3 years or so, so the WR is a major upgrade to say the least.

In the little under 2 weeks that I have owned the bike, I have got about 200 miles in, but this Saturday I ran into my first SNAFU.

I did a short 20 mile highway ride to get to the off-road area that I was planning on riding at. When I got there, my idle was high.

A couple of guys that were already out there (it was like a commercial or something; EVERYBODY out there was on a WR or a YZ!) and when they saw me with the tank and seat off, they came to assess the situation. Fast idle, and we could not get it to come down. After fiddling with the Idle adjsut screw a couple of times, it started to "clank". The first time the "clank" reared its' ugly head, the guy around me thought that maybe I still had the kick starter down. That is somewhat like what the "clank" sounded like. After we heard that, I shut the bike down immediately. After that, I trailered the bike back to the house.

After I got home, I called the local shop, and the guy told me to look behind the Hot Start button for a loose vaccuum line. Sure enough, it was loose. I put that line back on, and fired it back up. The "clank" went away within about 2-3 seconds of the engine being started, but the idle is still high. Sounds like the throttle is 1/4 the way open. And, the exhaust pipe gets RED HOT within about 20 seconds of the engine being started. Sounds like a very lean condition, but I am perplexed.

Any thoughts or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Brandon

Any thoughts?

• Taffy

Posted March 25, 2002 - 11:43 AM

i think your throttle slide plate has broken and it's been injested by your engine. fear not! it has happened to others before and it doesn't do any damage.