5 replies to this topic
  • UK Bosch

Posted October 30, 2007 - 12:14 AM

Hey all, bit of a clueless newbie here :worthy:

(many) years ago i used to ride 2 stroke mx and then had a long stint on sports bikes. I've just sold it and bought my first 4 banger (04 yz450) with lights and plate to do some trail/woods riding, enduro and maybe a few mx tracks (i'm not exactly track fit).

The problem is when i started it from cold (at night about 5c outside) it started to dump the coolant after about a minute at the most!! I've read on here that they overheat quite quickly but a minute from stone cold...is that normal?

• grayracer513

Posted October 30, 2007 - 06:31 AM

If you're talking about sitting and idling, yes, it's normal. They can begin to push coolant out in as little as two minutes that way keeping the revs up seems to help a little.

Since it's a used bike you may want to check the condition of the cap and the coolant, both of which will contribute to early boilover if they get weak. Have the cap tested, and probably just replace the coolant.

• 642MX

Posted October 30, 2007 - 05:28 PM

And its also important not to over-fill the radiator. The coolant level just needs to be over the core. If you put much more in it, it will puke it out rather quickly.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • UK Bosch

Posted October 31, 2007 - 11:36 PM

cheers fellas, thought i'd bought a dud :worthy:

If i could just pick your brains again until i get to grips with this thing. Unbelievably it starts first kick when cold but after 30 secs when i try to pull away it dies unless i very gently build the revs and slip the clutch. Also when it's hot it's a pig to start, the revs hang a bit high when it should be idling and it pops like a machine gun every time i chop the throttle.