KTM 250 SX-F timing is off. help please.....

8 replies to this topic
  • KTMDADDY

Posted 29 October 2007 - 11:30 AM

have an 06 sxf 250, I had to remove the right inner (clutch side) engine cover. As I removed the cover the water pump shaft (which also is the bottom timing chain sprocket got moved a few teeth off because I was tired and not really paying attention. I am in the process of trying to figure out how to reset the timing on it. As of now I set the intake and exhaust cams so the two dots align with the horizontal line on the cylinder. I am trying to figure out how to make sure the crank (piston) are in the proper position in relation to the cams. My son and I have quite a bit of experience with 2 smokes but this is my first time inside a 4 strk and just want to make sure I don't make an expensive mistake.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • gibdog205

Posted 09 November 2007 - 07:01 PM

are you all set with this problem or still need help?

• SXFNetherlands

Posted 09 November 2007 - 11:59 PM

somehow get the piston in TDC, one way to do this is taking out the lockbolt in the engine and look trough it with a flashlight and find the hole in de crank. then install the bolt w/o the copper washer.
with the cams lined up, it should fall into place.

• Dave Hopkins

Posted 12 November 2007 - 08:32 AM

The bolt that indexes the crank at Top Dead Center (lets call it the TDC indexing bolt) is on the right side of the engine below and forward of the clutch cover and goes in toward the right side of the crank, it is a 6 or 8mm allan head and has a thick copper washer, remove the bolt.