New Edelelbrock - HELP!

8 replies to this topic
  • Descalzo

Posted October 28, 2007 - 06:11 AM

OK, I got this new carb 2 weeks ago, put it on last Sunday following the outta-the-box & it runs theory. Following the directions/suggestions from Edel., tried to start the pig - nothing, nada. Played with the idle adj, kicked & kicked & kicked - nothing. Thought maybe is was way lean, so I started playing with the "clicker" - kicked & kicked & finally got a pop/backfire outta the exhaust - by that time it was o-dark-thirty & I had to put it away.

During the week, I got a suggestion off another forum, that maybe there was some sort of gunk/goo plugging "something". OK, fine. Yesterday, I roll piggy out, pull the carb, tear it down & clean everything - a waste of time IMO, 'cause it looked brand new, which it should, because it is. Put it back on & following my "theory" of being real lean, I moved the clicker way up to 8 clicks out. Kickiing it now, I get a somewhat more frequent pop out of the exh. & the occasional backfire through the carb, but still no joy at all after a playing with everything, except a real tired leg.

My bike ran "ok" with the Keihin w/a 178 main, 68s & needle at 2nd clip. It wasn't dialed in perfect, but it was ok. Unfortuantely I added a header when I swapped carbs so that complicates things a bit, but it was a "2-kicker" dead cold w/a lil choke with that set-up.

My current set-up:

Air box side panel is cut/drilled, Uni filter, no backfire screen, Leo Vince header, 2 bros muffler with the "simple" screen-type spark arrestor. Otherwise stock (cam, compression, etc)

I'm @ roughly 3800' and daytime temps are ...mid 70's(?) & dropping. High desert - low/no humidity.

I ran a search and saw a few posts from guys @ 5-6000 feet running the 17 needle, & started thinking maybe I'm going the wrong direction on the mixture?