!@!@!! XL600 Timing Chain : )

7 replies to this topic
  • timstiles1

Posted October 18, 2007 - 10:59 PM

Looking for any tips or tricks on how to get the timing chain back on the camshaft sprocket and aligned correctly. I have the factory Honda and an after-market service manual and neither are too helpful here. They both suggest fitting the cam and sprocket in aligned, pulling the chain over the sprocket, and releasing the tensioner. As far as I can tell , and I'm a pretty decent mechanic, this is impossible. I have figured out another way to get the cam and chain and everything in but I'm always a click off with the sprocket marks that align with the head. A click off to the left, take it apart, move the chain on the sprocket, insert, and now I'm off a click to the right.

Also the factory manual has one doing all of this with the tensioner installed but not released - this at least to me seems to make everything even more impossible. My local bike mechanic puts the tensioner in last after everything is lined up.

So if anyone wants to share their experiences doing this I'm ready to read!

Thanks,

Tim
1984 XL600 "Project" Bike
It's just a cam chain away from going back together and not being a project bike anymore.

• Nate R

Posted November 04, 2007 - 10:08 PM

Where'd you end up with this?

• timstiles1

Posted November 05, 2007 - 11:28 PM

Embarrassing user error. The 84 case had no clear TDC alignment mark. The 86 case I had did so I used that to line things up and it worked brilliantly.

• 83xl600help

Posted March 26, 2009 - 01:57 PM

the way i did it on my 83 xl is i took the cam out put the chain on the cam gear then slid (i use that word loosely) the cam through the middle of the cam gear then bolted it in i didnt even have to mess with the tensioner. now i have a question at tdc is the lobes on the cam supposed to be up or down?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • akarob