Got 426 go to a stop pull in clutch she dies?

4 replies to this topic
  • heller

Posted March 22, 2002 - 02:08 PM

I just picked up 2000 426 with DSP pipe,awsome power but when i come to a STOP it just dies unless I keep reving it above a idle Burp it to keep it running.If I do the same thing with the hot start button pulled out it stays running when I made the turn I found out when I forgot to push the hot start back in. What is wrong anyone ,Im used to 2 strokes where i pull in clutch to turn sharp and have to keep reving it to stay running am I supposed to use the engine braking to make the turn? Im a 4 stroke newbie!!! Man not easy to start either.Any help would be much apreicated.
Kc

• YAMAKAZE

Posted March 22, 2002 - 03:57 PM

Your Jetting may be off or you may have an obstruction in the airbox that is making the carb suck too much fuel and not enough air... Have you been in the carb since you bought it. Do you know what the current Pilot/Pilot Air Jet/Fuel Screw Settings are?

Check for an air obstruction first, if it's clear, tell us what your jetting is set at.

Also check out the "how to start the bike Video" on the left side of the page....

http://www.dubachrac...om/hotstart.htm

Bonzai :)

[ March 22, 2002: Message edited by: YAMAKAZE ]

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • heller

Posted March 22, 2002 - 06:02 PM

no I have never touched the carb. got the bike today.what is the Pilot/Pilot Air Jet/Fuel Screw is there a web page that points out what these are and where? is the black knob on side of carb is that the idle? Or something else?I can take the bottom carb bowl off and find out what is inside like Main jet Pilot jet and Needle but I dont know what Piolt air jet is. I have 2 strokes and i am only familiar with Needle,pilot and main.