yz426F wont start, Help!!

30 replies to this topic
  • yeti stever

Posted October 06, 2007 - 10:27 PM

i have a 2000 yz426F that wont start its my firts four stroke dirt bike so im a lil un shure, its got sparki cleand the carb and it had nothing viibly wrong with it and every thing but just backfires and it will only back fire if i crank the throttlel up a few times and get gas in with accelorator pump it has me totaly lost so please help me out thanks:cry:

• Yamaha4lyfe

Posted October 06, 2007 - 10:32 PM

check the valves!

if they are very very tight, it will run bad. and will be close to imposible to start

umm check your jetting, you said its got spark?

• yeti stever

Posted October 06, 2007 - 10:43 PM

ya its got spark hot the greatist but still way better than my kx and you say check if teh valves are tight? what do you mean buy this im new to the four stoke dirt bikes i had the valve cover off and the timing chain seemd prity tight but was not shure of corect tension for it but il chek the valve gap withe a feeler gauge and see if its corect to the specks, thanks

• 1rkcooper

Posted October 07, 2007 - 05:55 AM

At the top of the YZ forum is a sticky with common thread in it. At the bottom of that page is a couple of links to starting procedures. If you don't have a manual there is also a link in there for manuals. Check all the info in the sticky.
Where in BC are you?

• grayracer513

Posted October 07, 2007 - 07:34 AM

First, put a fresh plug in it. Then watch the videos at the link cooper mentioned before you try it again.

• yeti stever

Posted October 07, 2007 - 10:35 AM