New to the show 2007 650L tips

35 replies to this topic
  • Schwagman

Posted October 05, 2007 - 04:39 AM

Hey I'm new to TT. Don't want to make anyone hate immediately but, I landed a '07 L for $3K here in San Diego. Older guy who still thinks he's bullet proof dumped it ONCE!!! He got all scratched up and scared. Bike barely got touched. Sooooo....I'm lookin' to make some changes leaning far more toward dirt then street. Need some sound advice from the proven.

I know I wanna change tires to knobbies. I wanna change tank to plastic/bigger. What brand/model/size tire? What tank? What else? Pipe? Carb Mods. I definately want to keep everything legal for registration. But I NEED to lighten this thing up. Lots of extra metal junk that needs to go! And, what's up with these little rubber thingies being used for turn signals. Isn't there some lightweight L.E.D. substitute. Can anything be done with the battery compartment as a counter-balance for that exhaust?

Sound suggestions would be appreciated.

I too am an older guy but I think I have learned NOT to try to keep up with the kids. Oh Yeah. I need some body armor...any help or suggestions.

Schwag

• Motosprtman

Posted October 05, 2007 - 05:12 AM

Daves Mods are probably the most popular and economical. Some like the Dynojet kit, which is more expensive, but works good too. Basically the term "uncorked", needs to be done, which includes the opening of the airbox or "snorkle" as it is called. Rejetting the carb, and an aftermarket pipe. Also included is the removal of the smog equipment. The bike will start easier and idle better, throttle response is improved and overall "feel" or as it is called "drivability". Pulls harder, longer and runs cooler too.

• walshdanielm1965

Posted October 05, 2007 - 11:54 AM

I ride 90% dirt 10% street, Here are my mods....
1)Daves mods
2)Tires -Dunlop 606 on the front, Dunlop 739AT on the rear(not DOT).
3)IMS 4.0 tank (not DOT)
4) RTT stabilizer & RSW fork brace & Protaper bars