XR650L valve choices

4 replies to this topic
  • machman

Posted October 02, 2007 - 12:55 PM

Hey guys,

I'm just getting into building up my XRL and I'm thinking about whether or not I should use my stock valves or pony up for the nitroneg ones.

I've got 20,000kms on my bike and the head did exhibit a bit of loss out the intake valves. By that I mean there was a bit of carbon built up on the wrong side of the intake valves.

I'm hoping this can be solved by a valve job which is all I hope to do unless the Thumpertalk collective tells me I should spend the money on shiney new valves.

• machman

Posted October 04, 2007 - 06:24 AM

Wow, the silence is deafining! You guys are all either working too hard or wringing out all the last rides of the season.:confused:

Well, good on ya.:confused: Meanwhile I'm finishing out my season with a buildup.:confused:

If that's not true, I'll assume that a lot of guys that have done buildups have just left well enough alone on the valve front. Is that a fair assessment?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • XR650L_Dave

Posted October 04, 2007 - 07:54 AM

Wow, the silence is deafining! You guys are all either working too hard or wringing out all the last rides of the season.:confused:

Well, good on ya.:confused: Meanwhile I'm finishing out my season with a buildup.:confused:

If that's not true, I'll assume that a lot of guys that have done buildups have just left well enough alone on the valve front. Is that a fair assessment?

The problem is, not many have touched their valves, I'd guess.

Prob. more seat issues than valve issues out there.

Dave

• cleonard

Posted October 04, 2007 - 08:42 AM

Prob. more seat issues than valve issues out there.