01 wr426 with yz cams

10 replies to this topic
  • turbogtimk4

Posted September 28, 2007 - 04:45 PM

I have an 01 wr426 and i just got a used set of 01 yz cams for it. Is there anything i need to change or be aware of? do i need to resurfuse the cams? also, do i need new cam bearings? what kind of power difference am i going to notice... is there less bottom end and more top? one last thing, will i need to re-jet? as you can tell, i am new to 4 stokes soyour responces are appriciated! thank you guys!!!

• Birdy426

Posted September 29, 2007 - 07:37 AM

Hope you didn't pay a lot for them... for 98-02, th YZ and WR cams are the same. The only difference is in the timing. Search this thread and you will find about 10 pages of posts discussing how to do it, the advantages and disadvantages of setting up your WR cams to YZ timing specs. When the cams got autodecomp, they became different, as the autodecomp is influenced by cam timing. If you just retimed the exhaust cam, the auto decomp won't be timed right and won't work. The 03 YZ cam is really the hot ticket, as you get YZ timing AND autodecomp.

• dmoney1074

Posted September 29, 2007 - 01:41 PM

^^^ What he said...... yz and wr have the same cams that year, wr cams are just retarded...

• Birdy426

Posted September 29, 2007 - 03:27 PM

^^^ What he said...... yz and wr have the same cams that year, wr cams are just retarded...

Actually, they are advanced one tooth. The YZ cams are retarded 1 tooth wrt the WR cams.

• turbogtimk4

Posted September 29, 2007 - 10:23 PM

The yz and wr cams are different, i dont have them yet to compair, but the yamaha part number is different

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • dmoney1074

Posted September 29, 2007 - 10:42 PM

The yz and wr cams are different, i dont have them yet to compair, but the yamaha part number is different