Fixing a fork leak: a dumb question...

1 reply to this topic
  • gregk

Posted September 19, 2007 - 10:29 AM

Hi all,

last time I went to my (unofficial :thumbsup: ) motocross track, after about 1 hour of jumping attempts I detected a leak in my left fork seal. Not a large leak, but the brake caliper looked wet (which seemed strange, as the track was almost completely dry), I checked and it was oil, not water...the oil did come from the fork, leaking slowly along the chrome inner tube and wetting the caliper.

The jump (yes, THE jump...there is only one on the track :thumbsup: ) have a flat reception, and my landings were a little bit rough...However, I am a beginner and do not jump high, so I rate the probability of me (75 kg) breaking something in the fork of a WR450 2004 with standard spring as really really low (or maybe I progressed faster than I though and my jump are not as ridiculous as before? :worthy: ).

More likely, I compressed the fork more than usual and some dried dirt got trapped under the seal. I do not want to attempt seal replacement, fork disassembly is quite frightening and I think the 35mm film trick is better to be tried first, given that the leak is not very strong...

Now for the dumb question: I first tried to do the film trick under the dust seal (I did not know there were 2 seals....noob, I told you :ride: ), there was an improvement in the leak, it looks like it was more or less solved, but reading thumpertalk I realised my error and I think the oil is simply accumulating above the dust seal and will leak again when I jump a few times...
I would like to clean the oil seal properly, but question is, how do I remove the dust seal in the first place????