newbie here

13 replies to this topic
  • Dominion

Posted September 15, 2007 - 10:52 PM

Hello folks. I just registered up today after lurking about for a month or so. I recently purchased a 07 Wr450 and I gotta say I love the bike. I have been a die hard Honda rider pretty much my whole life. My only other Yamaha was an It175 that I resurrected from the dead. All I have done to my bike is build my own removal kit for the AIS stuff, and re-jetted it myself based off what you guys had discussed already.

I can't believe they choke this bike down so much from the factory. I put .1 mile on it before I tore the bike down and removed all of the stuff. Now that its re-jetted the thing hauls the mail. I was doing 4th gear wheelies down the street no problem.

I would like to figure out how to setup the suspension to better handle my overloaded body. I weigh in at 240 so the rear end screams on the big stuff and I have a tendency to ride at a fair clip. I give this bike an A+ and I have to now ditch all of my Honda paraphernalia! haha

I also live in Rialto Ca and will be moving up to the central coast to live in San Louis obisbo in a couple of months so if anyone wants to go for a ride feel free to pm me. Im always down for a good ride!

~Brian

• clark4131

Posted September 16, 2007 - 06:05 AM

Order a 5.8 spring for the rear and .50 springs for the forks. Put in some new 5-weight fork oil with the springs, and you're done. It's a piece of cake...SC

• Dominion

Posted September 16, 2007 - 01:32 PM

Cool, thanks for the heads up!

~Brian

• RickSanson

Posted September 16, 2007 - 02:28 PM

Let me tell ya, I've gotten my bike just like I want it and finally did the springs. I'm 230lbs with gear (I do haul a bit of gear) and went with (Per Jeremy Wilkey - MX-Tech) .50 fork springs and 5.8 shock.