From 140cc pit bike to 450f??

35 replies to this topic
  • HollywoodMX

Posted September 13, 2007 - 07:23 PM

**Before posting I did serach but found that most of the people considering the the wr250 vs 450 were are larger dudes. So my situation is unique to my newbness on a big bike and size/weight.**

I just started riding this year. I quickly learned the ropes on my 140cc chinese pitbike. I am now ready for teh big toys, as when I frist started riding the pitbike I thought it was alot of power, now it feels like 50cc to me. At this point I have not rid a big bike. And I m too nervous to test drive someones big bike before buying, a friend will take car of the test drive for me.

Im 30, 155lbs, 5'8 and Italian (Italian power!!!). I trail ride only, from open, to quad size to tighter stuff.

I was orginally looking at the 03 and up WR250's (estart!), but have found a a good deal on a 450 for the same price as a 250 I'm looking at.

My friends are saying that a 450 is too much bike for me, and I will get hurt, this an that. At my size and stage in learning is the 450 to much for me and I should get the 250 and never look back?

I also read that the 03 450 had an estart problem?

Thanks.

• clark4131

Posted September 13, 2007 - 08:19 PM

Given your size and experience, a 250 will serve you well...SC

• knightsofstevenson

Posted September 13, 2007 - 08:26 PM

I totally agree with that^^. The 250 should be just about perfect for you. A LOT more power than your 140 but not the sometimes uncontrollable beastly power of a 450 for people just moving up.

• pjriss

Posted September 13, 2007 - 08:31 PM

I have a 300 and a 426. They're different and I love them both. Why limit yourself to just one bike? You're Italian for Christ's sake!

• erickdj

Posted September 13, 2007 - 09:05 PM