Slow single track speeds

13 replies to this topic
  • rlcowder

Posted September 03, 2007 - 11:49 AM

I'm looking for a new bike and need a little clarification. I ride primarily quad trails at speeds of 5-12 mph. I'm concerned that if I get a yz450f it will overheat. Can someone let me know if this slow speed would cause problems or are people taking about real slow less that 5mph when overheating occurs. If that's the case I will have to go wr450f. Thanks for the help.

• Dirtbiker05

Posted September 03, 2007 - 03:29 PM

im no expert but i have a yz450f and just this past weekend crawled along with my cousin who was on a pw80. i was in first gear most of the time and experienced no over heating problems. i think u would be safe in your situation.

• mikedabike

Posted September 03, 2007 - 03:38 PM

If you primarily ride quad trails at 5-12 mph why would you get a motocross bike that will barely run at those speeds? There are plenty of trail bikes that would fit your prupose better.

• Quack

Posted September 03, 2007 - 04:23 PM

If you are moving, you should be ok. They really need the air acrossed the radiators. You might think about Engine Ice coolant, that could really also help. I have had mine boil over a little in the woods, moving at a crawl and doing alot of ideling. I have yet to switch to Engine Ice, but plan to soon.

I personally would just go with a WR I know a guy that races his, so if you want to trail ride and MX that might be a better choice.

• KAS

Posted September 03, 2007 - 05:36 PM

5-12mph?

You might not overheat, but they're a handfull to keep moving smoothly at those slow speeds. A change of gearing and a heavier flywheel would help.

If you're worried about overheating, you could get a coolant catch tank for a WR and mount it up.

I'd say overall a WR might suit you better.

• Captaincautious7

Posted September 03, 2007 - 05:42 PM

I don't think you'll be happy with a yz at those slow speeds. To be honest I think I'd go the wr route.