What will these 2 mods on my new XL650 do?

5 replies to this topic
  • xrberg

Posted August 22, 2007 - 10:48 AM

2003 XR650L 500 miles

Thinking of leaving the carb mods alone for now since I only have 500 miles on my bike. I'm a pretty goosd DIY mechanic but I just dont have the nuts to drill that sucker out. so..........
Just wondering if I just remove the air pump and charcoal canister and maybe add a supertrap if I'd be good to go and get some decent performance. It seems like a uncorked 250 right now. What can I expect with just those mods.

oh and btw I have a supertrapp off one of my XR250rs and it looks like it will fit.. anyone chime in and tell me it will be too restrictive?

opinions appreciated

• martinfan30

Posted August 22, 2007 - 10:58 AM

2003 XR650L 500 miles

Thinking of leaving the carb mods alone for now since I only have 500 miles on my bike. I'm a pretty goosd DIY mechanic but I just dont have the nuts to drill that sucker out. so..........
Just wondering if I just remove the air pump and charcoal canister and maybe add a supertrap if I'd be good to go and get some decent performance. It seems like a uncorked 250 right now. What can I expect with just those mods.

oh and btw I have a supertrapp off one of my XR250rs and it looks like it will fit.. anyone chime in and tell me it will be too restrictive?

opinions appreciated

drilling the slide is very straight forward and will cause no prob. unless you drill out the needle hole!LOL!
removing the smog/charcoal cannister does very little other than save a bit of weight.
if you put on that s.trapp, it wont run right w/o doing the carb mods--will be even more stupidly lean.
so do the carb stuff with the pipe. the smog removal can be done by itself.

• COAL RUN

Posted August 22, 2007 - 11:50 AM

If you dont want to drill the slide you would at least need the jet kit

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • martinfan30