Hanging idle on 01' 650r

8 replies to this topic
  • numbnutz

Posted August 19, 2007 - 03:24 PM

Hey guys I have an 01' 650r uncorked and jetted right. 68s, 53e needle in the 3rd clip and a 175 main, uni filter @ sea level but am having a problem with the idle hanging up. I've checked the throttle cable routing and slack and no problems there. Any ideas as what is going on? Any help would be great.

• resslera

Posted August 19, 2007 - 03:28 PM

Try turning down the idle until it barely idles. I did this with mine and it hasn't happended in the 2+ years since.

• Old_Man_Time

Posted August 19, 2007 - 03:32 PM

Try turning down the idle until it barely idles. I did this with mine and it hasn't happended in the 2+ years since.

I agree. Too high of an idle is quite often the problem.

• numbnutz

Posted August 19, 2007 - 03:42 PM

Thanks for the quick response. I'm new to the BRP so any help is much appreciated.

thanks

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • D1k

Posted August 19, 2007 - 05:50 PM

Could it be that the low end of the carb(idle and pilot) circuits are a little lean.

If you come off an extended run at mid and high throttle settings and the idle is very high or seems to be stuck, this is a condition of lean low to mid range. Not enough gas and too much air causes the high revving.

This can be tuned out by richening the air/fuel screw or changing the pilot to a richer one.

• Old_Man_Time

Posted August 19, 2007 - 09:02 PM

Could it be that the low end of the carb(idle and pilot) circuits are a little lean.

If you come off an extended run at mid and high throttle settings and the idle is very high or seems to be stuck, this is a condition of lean low to mid range. Not enough gas and too much air causes the high revving.

This can be tuned out by richening the air/fuel screw or changing the pilot to a richer one.