03 yz 450f backfiring, please look

6 replies to this topic
  • dirtman22

Posted August 13, 2007 - 08:48 PM

Hey guys, i just installed a Jardine RT 4 exhaust system on my 03 yz 450f and as i had expected there is a pretty bad backfire on the decel. Now im not an expert by any means with the mechanical side of bikes, but i knew that i had to adjust the fuel screw in some way. 1) What kind of bolt is in that hole cause i cant see in there so i dont know what kind of tool to use to adjust it?
2) Which way should i turn it because im trying to make the mixture richer, correct?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• grayracer513

Posted August 13, 2007 - 08:58 PM

1) It's a straight slot screw.

2) Out for rich. (it's a fuel screw)

Read:

http://www.thumperta...599#post3710599

• Ga426owner

Posted August 14, 2007 - 04:58 AM

And for any of you that are thinking of posting that i should have searched the forum because there are a million of these threads already u can go to hell because i already looked and none answered my question.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am surprised GreyRacer did not slam you for your stab..... so I will offer my 1.25cents...:prof:
This is not the nice way to ask for advice my friend..........what you are saying applies to oil threads, and oil threads only. I applaud you for making the effort to use the search function and in the future I suggest a different tone:blah:

So use your fuel screw first to see if this helps get rid of the popping, and you may need to rejet for the pipe mj or pj for leaner or richer. Call the pipe company for their recomendations on your bike:thumbsup:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted August 14, 2007 - 06:17 AM

I am surprised GreyRacer did not slam you for your stab..... so I will offer my 1.25cents...:prof: