XR650L, Dave's Mods, Stock Pipe, Jetting?

11 replies to this topic
  • Sipes77

Posted August 11, 2007 - 10:09 PM

I have a 2005 XR650L that I am going to do Dave's Mod on. Looking forward to this improvement! Using the stock pipe, uni filter, de-snorkled, at about 3000' ASL, what Jetting is recommended?
Dave's mod suggests jets at sea level, 55/158. Most of my riding is 3000-4000' ASL, and sometimes a run up to 7000'.
I am researching what size jets to use because first, I am a noob at carb work, and secondly, I do not want to have to pull it all apart soon after I get it put back together. Thanks in advance!

• Frank ZX

Posted August 12, 2007 - 03:42 AM

I'm about 600 ASL,I ran 55/158 and my bike runs great.Hope this helps.

• martinfan30

Posted August 12, 2007 - 08:12 PM

I have a 2005 XR650L that I am going to do Dave's Mod on. Looking forward to this improvement! Using the stock pipe, uni filter, de-snorkled, at about 3000' ASL, what Jetting is recommended?
Dave's mod suggests jets at sea level, 55/158. Most of my riding is 3000-4000' ASL, and sometimes a run up to 7000'.
I am researching what size jets to use because first, I am a noob at carb work, and secondly, I do not want to have to pull it all apart soon after I get it put back together. Thanks in advance!

i also have an 05 650L, if you are going to run at those levels, carry leaner jets. do the 158/55 for sea level. then be prepared to put in 155/50 jets for high ele. they easy to swap out. only takes a few minutes. if the pig was F.I. there would be no need, but this is why we carry extra jets.

• Denn10

Posted August 12, 2007 - 09:58 PM