Helmet cam in Moab?

15 replies to this topic
  • KerryT

Posted August 25, 2000 - 12:41 PM

Is anyone going to bring a helmet cam to Moab? That would be an awesome way to document our trip!

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted August 28, 2000 - 01:07 PM

hey there.. I happen to have picked up one of these cams. :D When is the Moab date? I haven't been paying too much attention to the threads, but I just discovered I have an extra week of vacation..
sooo.....
Unfortunetly I am a novice dirt guy with 25 yrs of sport street riding so I am slow and a wee bit above slow when riding. :D I am not above strapping it to a fast guy though :) Once I approve of the skill level (I am generally easily impressed) of the rider. I don't think I have much to worry about with YOU guys :D

Neil

• So_Cal_Erik

Posted August 28, 2000 - 02:39 PM

Helmet cams are a great thing to have when riding with large groups. A guy in my club brings his out to all our rides. Just make sure to bring EXTRA batteries, a charger, and plenty of film. You WILL waste a lot of film. Try to mount the camera on as many different locations as possible(on side of knees, facing rear at other riders, fender mount,etc.....) it will keep wiewing the videos at a later time a lot less boring. Also, make sure that you mount the camera lens more towards the back of the helmet than you would think, because as you ride, you will have a tendency to look down especially in the tight stuff. To protect the lens from roost, mud, and debris, tape a piece of clear plastic over the front of the lens. ( I cut a tear-off lens into several pre-cut pieces). Another helpful hint to make the videos more exciting, is to follow someone
who is about the same speed, it makes for more action, and it looks like your'e going faster than if you just video the scenery, which should be spectacular in itself.
Have fun up there!
Erik

------------------
So Cal Erik
Visit my club's site at <A HREF="http://www.ruts.org
" TARGET=_blank>www.ruts.org
</A>