Fork Mid Valve

5 replies to this topic
  • Hick

Posted August 09, 2000 - 02:33 PM

My forks are due for servicing and I have two questions:

1) I'm a decent mechanic when it comes to trucks and other equipment but I've only been riding for two years, so many areas of moto-mechanics still spook me. Like my forks. I'm perfectly happy with the shop who services my forks currently but wonder how difficult it really is. What does this involve? What tools do I need? How badly can I screw them up (this is really the most pertinent question)?

I have read my manual and a few tech articles in mag.s but I'm looking for some insight and advice from fellow Yamaha owners.

2) I was told that the next time I serviced my forks to be proactive and replace the midvalve with an aftermarket one. Is there anything wrong w/ stocker? Any improvements to be had w/ aftermarket? Will all aftermarket midvalves affect performance or are some made just to rectify weak stocker?

I'm no speedster but I'd say I'm a pretty aggressive rider (guy who services forks agrees just from looking inside my forks). I'm 6'0", 175 lb.s and run the ocassional off-road event in the desert (sand washes, sand whoops, deep braking bumps but few rocks) and my play riding is essentially the same. I love my forks in deep whoops and like them everywhere else but maybe I just don't know what I'm missing. Can I make my forks work better?

BTW, this may be a faux pas but the bike is a 426 and not a WR, but I figured fork internals are the same. The YZ side doesn't get even half the response as the WR side of thumpertalk.

I guess this post (and my bent rotor post) qualifies as a vote to combine YZ/WR forums.

As always, all advice appreciated...

• Kevin_in_New_Hampshire

Posted August 09, 2000 - 05:24 PM

Did you read the September issue of MXA?

Forks are quite easy to service, IF YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TOOLS. The big thing you may need is the damper rod holding tool. The tool you have to have is a seal driver.