2003 WR450 overflowing coolant and smoking.

8 replies to this topic
  • Nostalgic

Posted August 05, 2007 - 06:00 AM

Hey everyone.

I have very little mechanical knowledge. My 2003 WR450 has started to have an overflow of what looks like coolant out of a tube in the front of the bike. The liquid then hits the radiator or other hot metal area and smokes.

This happens after the bike sits still while running for about a minute, usually after I have been riding for ten minutes or so.

Is this normal? I mean, it's water cooled so does it need to be constantly moving to avoid this?

Thanks for your help!

• Just_a_trail_rider

Posted August 05, 2007 - 10:40 PM

My bike gets real hot real quick when its not moving. I always shut it off.

The slightest bit of air moving through the radiators has a big effect. sitting still with the bike running will simply boil the insides of your motor.

Definitely check your fluid levels, then be sure to shut it off or keep moving.

• Nostalgic

Posted August 06, 2007 - 05:47 AM

I know I need to find a manual....

But, how do you check the coolant level? I know how to check the oil...Are there any other fluids to check?

Thanks!

• Dan_Lorenze

Posted August 06, 2007 - 06:45 AM

Top off the radiators with 50/50 coolant and water and make sure the resevoir is about half full.. If some some reason the resevoir was topped off it wouldn't give the coolant any chance of cycling back and forth from the resevoir and radiators and be forced out the overflow at the top of the radiator when the bike gets hot. Too much coolant would make your bike puke out coolant. Like others have said check your coolant level...

Dan

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • GCannon

Posted August 06, 2007 - 07:59 AM

At this point Replacing your radiator cap would be a good idea since this is what controls the pressure in the cooling system.

• chrispy1202

Posted August 06, 2007 - 03:10 PM