Changing Oil in '02 WR426

7 replies to this topic
  • Superwilly

Posted August 04, 2007 - 01:48 PM

Help, I just bought this bike and am changing oil for the first time. Manual says there are three drain bolts - I can only find the one under the frame, and the oil filter drain bolt. Where is the 3rd drain bolt that I need to remove?

Secondly, do I need to do the oil strainer cleaning and put new gaskets on the drain bolts EVERY time I change the oil? I'm going to be changing the oil every 2-3 rides (I'm a noob, so I don't ride her hard).

Finally, once all drained and cleaned, bolt her back up and then pour 1.3 to 1.5 litres into the oil filler place at the top of the frame (just below handlebars), right? Why is the filler in the frame anyway, any reason other than convenience?

Sorry if these are stupid questions, but I'm just trying to learn here... :)

Thanks in advance for help!

-Super

• Brooks_Wackerman

Posted August 04, 2007 - 09:40 PM

I just drop the main one unless i'm changing the filter aswell. If the gaskets and shit aren't rooted don't worry about it. From memory it takes 1.4 litres

• byggd

Posted August 05, 2007 - 04:57 AM

There is also a drain plug in the bottom of the motor. I wouldn't worry about the strainer in the frame but there is a filter on the right side behind a small cover. Yes you add the oil through the dip stick hole between the tank and the handlebars. My US model takes 1.4 qts with filter change. I suggest going to this site and downloading the manual.
http://www.yamahaown...ook.com.au/?r=0

• Superwilly

Posted August 05, 2007 - 07:47 AM

Thanks guys - so there is a drain plug under the motor? (in addition to drain plug under the transfer case that I access through hole in the bottom of the skid plate)?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • byggd

Posted August 05, 2007 - 04:48 PM