best tires

9 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted July 16, 2000 - 02:25 PM

I live in western PA... I need some tires which ones work good on the wr400???????
busch

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted July 16, 2000 - 04:26 PM

I will gladly ship you my old ones! :)

Seriously though, Im a true blue Dunlop man. My personal favorites:
D755
D752
D739 IT - rear

Depends on your conditions on what would work best for you, but thats what I like.

------------------
Darin from Missouri 1999 WR400F

• Scrambler

Posted July 16, 2000 - 04:42 PM

The Dunlop 752 and 756's have worked well for me. I'm not an expert, but the 756 on the front made the WR stick corners much better than the stocker. Both front and rear 756's seemed very durable to me. I rode with the same rear tire all of last year, and I was in quite a few harescrambles. The tire still wasn't shot, but I wanted to start the year off with some new rubber.

• damage_inc400

Posted July 17, 2000 - 04:38 AM

Dunlop has just come out with a new tire that has supposedly been designed for four strokes. Supposed it allows better delivery of power to the ground. Sounds like hogwash to me, but I am no expert. If you want the tire model, let me know. I don't have it on me right now, but I can look it up for you.

I have used a Dunlop 752 on the rear in the past, and was really impressed with it. Seemed to have really good traction and wear. The knobs were spaced pretty good to allow good cleaning in the mud.

I currently have a 756 on both the front and the back, and have no complaints about it either. It seems to be wearing pretty well too. Haven't had any chunking like my buddy with a set of Pirelli's.

Good luck!

• CraigW

Posted July 17, 2000 - 04:53 AM