Who is a better rider?

13 replies to this topic
  • Mark

Posted July 12, 2000 - 05:48 AM

Who is a better rider?

I've been riding motorcycles for only a few years. I am finding that I a riding faster and faster each year. I've raced a few enduros and I do OK in the B class. I think only experience will make me faster.

I've come to the conclusion that how fast you are on a motorcycle is a little misleading. Motorcycle riding and especially racing require more than just good bike handling skills.

Some of my friends ride faster than me when we are riding for fun. One guy in particular, Alan, is quite a bit faster than me but he crashes a lot more than me. I'm the type of rider that is fast, but I never feel like I'm out of control. I always know, with 98 percent confidence, that I'm going to come out of a section ok. I can't ride any faster than that. Alan rides faster than me but crashes a lot. Is he riding over his head? He gets injured or brakes a major bike part about once a month.

If you ask Alan who the better rider is, he would say he is the better rider. He can kick my butt between point A and point B and ride technical sections faster than me. But, I can ride from point A to point B without crashing and not that much slower than Alan. Plus, I too can ride the technical sections. But I might not jump over them. I might ride them slow so I don't crash.
In a race, I could beat Alan (he doesn't race) because I'm fitter and I don't crash.

One might say that I should ride faster and a little more over the edge. Well sorry but my mind isn't programmed that way. When I am in a zone, I'm on the edge in my mind. To ride faster doesn't compute.

So who is a better rider?

Alan says he's a better rider because if you pick two points a few miles apart, he can get to the end faster (if he doesn't crash). Alan has broken a lot of bones riding motorcycles.