Common Issues?

2 replies to this topic
  • USED YZ426F

Posted July 29, 2007 - 12:52 PM

Hey all. Just got a '00 YZ 426F from a HD dealer yesterday. They said that it didn't run (no spark) and made me a good deal. Got it home, checked the spark plug (that was a bear to get out) and it had spark. Put it back in and the beast fired right up!:applause:

I have this machine, and I am not a complete novice, although I haven't ridden in almost 20 years. Can anyone tell me if there are any common issues with this model that have easy fixes? Would like to take care of them now, before I am stuck on a trail somewhere.:eek:

I used to have an IT 490, and she vibrated one or two bolts loose every weekend. Lots of lock-tight and that problem was taken care of. This one is already missing some bolts, and others are loose. Don't know if they vibrated loose, or if they were removed during maintenance and just not replaced.

Are there any bolts that are prone to coming loose and falling off that I need to pay special attention to over the next several days (as I go over my bike with a fine tooth comb)?

On the left side of the carb, there are two slide levers. One is red, and just above that is a black one. I guessed that the black one is the choke (pulled it out and the bike started on the second kick). What is the red one for?

I am sure that I will have more questions, but right now I am just too excited to sit here and think of them.:ride:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • cowboyona426

Posted July 29, 2007 - 01:03 PM