Freezers first WR ride

4 replies to this topic
  • Bryan

Posted June 16, 2000 - 07:11 AM

Rumor has it that Freezer finally got to ride his new WR for the first time. He went to the hospital right after he got the sucker shipped to him! Major bummage!

Freezer, how was your first ride? Did you have fun? Isn't 686 at Rampart a kick in the butt? It's like snowmobiling and taking high banked turns.

Bryan...

• Freezer

Posted June 20, 2000 - 11:48 AM

Want to re-live those days as a complete beginner dirt biker? Then read on:

Jake took me for a very short ride last Thursday at Rampart (my first time
there). He said I did well, after I kept asking him, "How'd I do?"(maybe he said that just to shut me up!) I did
introduce my former Michigan bike(I bought it long-distance) to Colorado dirt and rocks, and that means more than just a tires-to-trail handshake! I't amazing how quickly you go from Mr. Confidence to picking yourself up off the ground, several feet/yards away from bike, mumbling "wha happened...?" But it sure was fun. The grin on my face lasted until the next morning, when I moved my neck. :) However, the stiffness will subside, but one thing will not: I officially got bitten by the bug! I can't wait to go again!

Coming from the mountain bike background, that ride at Rampart was the first time I got the similar thrills and feelings that you get when mountain bike riding, and IT WAS WAY BETTER! Prior to a month ago my last time on a "dirt bike" was my mini bike as a kid(embarassing to admit that here). I joined the mountain bike craze as a flatlander in Indiana in the late 80's(I got a lot of funny looks for the first couple years). Moving to Colorado in the mid-90's was a dream come true, and meant more fun on the mtn. bike. To bomb down a singletrack and jump waterbars and obstacles, or climb steep, rocky terrain and clear fallen logs were things unknown to me, and hard to believe a bike (um, bicycle) could do.