used 03 WR450 tranny question

6 replies to this topic
  • Photojojo

Posted July 23, 2007 - 05:59 PM

I'm looking at a 03 WR450. The best I can tell this bike has been taken pretty good care of and not really flogged much. The owner told me yesterday that there was a slight issue when shifting from 5th. He said you have to tap the shifter going from 4th into 3rd, but only when you have shifted from 5th. Does this sound like a transmission that is about to go out? I've been reading about the problems with 3rd and 5th and am just trying to cover my bases before I buy this bike.

Has anybody repaired/replaced the 5th and 3rd gears on there own? I'm a reasonably competent mechanic and do all of my own work. I have a guy that will work on it for me so that I don't have to take it to a shop, but I like to do the work myself if possible.

• VB_Racing

Posted July 23, 2007 - 07:41 PM

I'm looking at a 03 WR450. The best I can tell this bike has been taken pretty good care of and not really flogged much. The owner told me yesterday that there was a slight issue when shifting from 5th. He said you have to tap the shifter going from 4th into 3rd, but only when you have shifted from 5th. Does this sound like a transmission that is about to go out? I've been reading about the problems with 3rd and 5th and am just trying to cover my bases before I buy this bike.

Has anybody repaired/replaced the 5th and 3rd gears on there own? I'm a reasonably competent mechanic and do all of my own work. I have a guy that will work on it for me so that I don't have to take it to a shop, but I like to do the work myself if possible.

Yes , it sounds like an issue. If you are a competent mechanic, then splitting the cases is not a big deal. You can save yourself quite a bit of money by doing the job yourself.
Do yourself a favor while you're there and take care of the top end and cam chain while it's apart.